Real Estate Convictions Europe : 2nd quarter 2021

The pandemic has killed over 4 million people in the last 18 months, but the Delta variant has made great strides across the planet, since it is highly contagious. Countries or regions with too low vaccination provision may be quickly forced to introduce further restrictive measures that pose significant risks to their recovery.

The upturn in activity (+6.2% in 2021 and +4.6% in 2022) will be possible as long as vaccination campaigns are intensified on a global scale in order to eliminate the health risks that the variants may generate. After a difficult start due to delivery delays and national vaccination campaigns deemed too slow, the European Commission will finally have succeeded in ensuring that 380 million doses of vaccines (first and/or second doses) are administered in the European Union.

Progress with vaccination and the reopening of Eurozone economies point to a sharp rise in GDP in the second and third quarters. Although there is still a high degree of uncertainty over the size of the rebound, the outlook is still positive for 2021 (+4.9%) and 2022 (+4.6%). In the different countries, the path is the same, but the amplitude varies. Needless to say, the harder the recession was in 2020, the stronger the rebound. Thus, in Germany, GDP is expected to grow in 2021 (+3.7%) and in 2022 (+4.4%), a movement quite similar to that of the Netherlands (+2.9% in 2021, +3.3% in 2022). In France and Belgium, activity should bounce back well in 2021 (+5.1% and +5.0% respectively) and in 2022 (+4.7% and +3.8%). The two major south European economies, Italy and Spain, should also experience a notable economic rebound with respective growth of +5.0% and +6.5% in 2021 and +4.7 % and +6.0% in 2022.

The ECB is changing its «forward guidance» to clarify the future directions of its monetary policy while continuing to provide a significant monetary stimulus. The ECB is now posting «a symmetrical inflation target of 2% in the medium term». The inflation target wording «less than but close to» has thus been discarded so as to remove any ambiguity. The term «symmetrical» means that «the Governing Council considers that negative and positive deviations from that target are equally undesirable». This is the context in which Eurozone inflation is expected to be +2.2% in 2021. However, it should be noted that this increase is the result of temporary phenomena and should not be such as to push bond yields up in 2021 (+0,2%). Given this accommodating policy, no significant rise in interest rates is expected before mid-2024, allowing real estate to maintain an attractive risk premium.
​​​​​​​
More than a year after the start of the Covid-19 crisis, some 115 billion euros were invested in the first half of 2021 (-7% over a year), which demonstrates the resilience of the European commercial real-estate market1 in times of severe turbulence. While investor visibility has increased in recent months, the «flight to quality» strategy is still in favour, involving the strong appeal of well-located assets and established tenants. Investment in the various countries reached 28 billion euros in Germany (-14% over a year), in France 13 billion euros (-21%), in the Netherlands and Belgium 6 billion euros (-52%), in Spain 5 billion euros (+11%) and in Italy 4 billion euros (+14%). After a corrective phase at the start of the crisis and then a period of stabilisation that still continues, the second quarter of 2021 saw a fall in the returns of the supremely prime assets.

1 Commercial real estate refers to office, retail, logistics, service and residential real estate for institutional investors

Read the full study

Sources for figures: CBRE, FMI, RCA, Oxford Economics.

Convictions immobilières Europe Août 2021

The team

Daniel While
Daniel While Research, Strategy & Sustainability Director

Henry-Aurélien Natter
Henry-Aurélien Natter Head of Research

Adrien Isidore
Adrien Isidore Economist Statistician

You may also like

Real estate convictions Europe : 3rd quarter 2022
  • Market review

Real estate convictions Europe : 3rd quarter 2022

01/11/2022 By Henry-Aurélien Natter

The repercussions of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine have created substantial challenges for the world economy. What impact on real estate?

Read more
Real estate convictions Europe : 2nd quarter 2022
  • Market review

Real estate convictions Europe : 2nd quarter 2022

24/08/2022 By Henry-Aurélien Natter

Despite a limited impact on financing conditions during the first half of 2022, coupled with the uncertain economic and geopolitical context, the European real estate market saw total investment of €136 billion (up 6% over a year).

Read more
Real estate convictions: 1st quarter of 2022
  • Market review

Real estate convictions: 1st quarter of 2022

03/05/2022 By Henry-Aurélien Natter

Against a backdrop of global stock market volatility, the European real estate market will have achieved an acceleration in the volume of investment, with €70 billion invested in the first quarter of 2022 (+18% year on yearyear on year).

Lire la suite

Convictions Immobilières Europe : 2e trimestre 2021

Alors que la pandémie a fait plus de 4 millions de morts en 18 mois dans le monde, le variant Delta a fortement progressé sur l’ensemble de la planète en raison de sa grande contagiosité. Les pays/régions ayant une couverture vaccinale trop faible pourraient être rapidement contraints de mettre en place de nouvelles mesures de restriction faisant peser des risques importants sur la reprise.

Le rebond de l’activité (+6,2% en 2021 et +4,6% en 2022) sera possible à condition d’intensifier les campagnes de vaccination à l’échelle mondiale afin d’éliminer les risques sanitaires que les variants peuvent faire naître. Après des débuts laborieux en raison des retards de livraison et des campagnes de vaccination nationales jugées trop lentes, la Commission européenne aura finalement réussi à ce que 380 millions de doses de vaccins (premières et/ou secondes doses) soient administrées dans l’Union européenne.

Les progrès de la vaccination et la réouverture des économies de la zone euro laissent présager une forte hausse du PIB aux deuxième et troisième trimestres. Malgré le fait que l’incertitude entourant l’ampleur du rebond demeure élevée, les perspectives sont toujours bien orientées pour 2021 (+4,9%) et 2022 (+4,6%). Par pays, la trajectoire est identique mais les amplitudes varient. Bien entendu les rebonds sont d’autant plus forts que les récessions ont été dures en 2020. Ainsi, en Allemagne, le PIB est attendu en hausse en 2021 (+3,7%) et en 2002 (+4,4%), une dynamique assez proche des Pays-Bas (+2,9% en 2021, +3,3% en 2022). En France et en Belgique, l’activité devrait bien rebondir en 2021 (respectivement +5,1% et +5,0%) ainsi qu’en 2022 (+4,7% et +3,8%). Les deux grandes économies du sud de l’Europe, l’Italie et l’Espagne, devraient également connaître un rebond économique notable avec une croissance respective de +5,0% et +6,5% en 2021 et de +4,7% et +6,0% en 2022.

La BCE change sa « forward guidance » pour clarifier les orientations futures de sa politique monétaire tout en continuant de fournir d’importants stimulus monétaires. La BCE affiche désormais « un objectif d’inflation symétrique de 2 % à moyen terme ». Ainsi, la formulation d’objectif d’inflation « inférieure à, mais proche de » a été supprimée pour lever toute ambiguïté. Le terme « symétrique » signifie que « le Conseil des gouverneurs estime que les écarts négatifs et positifs par rapport à cet objectif sont également indésirables ». C’est dans ce contexte que l’inflation est attendue à +2,2% en zone euro en 2021. Toutefois, il convient de noter que cette hausse résulte de phénomènes temporaires et ne devrait pas être de nature à pousser les rendements obligataires à la hausse en 2021 (+0,2%). Avec cette politique accommodante, aucune hausse significative des taux d’intérêt n’est attendue avant la mi-2024, permettant à l’immobilier de maintenir une prime de risque attractive.
​​​​​​​
Plus d’un an après le début de la crise du Covid-19, environ 115 milliards d’euros ont été investis au premier semestre 2021 (-7% sur un an), démontrant la bonne résistance du marché européen de l’immobilier commercial1 en période de forte turbulence. Si la visibilité des investisseurs s’est accrue ces derniers mois, la stratégie du « flight to quality » demeure privilégiée avec un fort attrait pour les actifs bien localisés et pour des locataires solides. Par pays, les volumes d’investissement ont atteint en Allemagne 28 milliards d’euros (-14% sur un an), en France 13 milliards d’euros (-21%), aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique 6 milliards d’euros (-52%), en Espagne 5 milliards d’euros (+11%) et en Italie 4 milliards d’euros (+14%). Après une phase de correction en début de crise, puis une période de stabilisation qui se poursuit, le deuxième trimestre 2021 a connu une compression des rendements des actifs les plus « prime ».

1L’immobilier commercial désigne les bureaux, le commerce, la logistique, l’immobilier de services et le résidentiel destiné aux institutionnels.

Lire l'étude complète

Sources des données chiffrées : CBRE, FMI, RCA, Oxford Economics

Convictions immobilières Europe Août 2021

L'équipe Recherche

Daniel While Primonial REIM recherche immobilier SCPI
Daniel While Directeur recherche, stratégie et développement durable

Henry-Aurélien Natter Directeur Recherche

Adrien Isidore
Adrien Isidore Économiste Statisticien

Vous aimerez aussi

Convictions immobilières Europe : 3ème trimestre 2022
  • Point marché

Convictions immobilières Europe : 3ème trimestre 2022

21/11/2022 Par Henry-Aurélien Natter

Les répercussions de l’invasion de l’Ukraine par la Russie ont engendré des défis de taille pour l’économie mondiale. Quel impact sur l'immobilier ?

Lire la suite
Convictions immobilières Europe : 2ème trimestre 2022
  • Point marché

Convictions immobilières Europe : 2ème trimestre 2022

24/08/2022 Par Henry-Aurélien Natter

Alors que l’impact sur les conditions de financement a été limité malgré le contexte économique et géopolitique incertain durant le premier semestre 2022, le marché européen des biens immobiliers aura totalisé 136 milliards d’euros d’investissement (+6% sur un an).

Lire la suite
Convictions immobilières Europe : 1er trimestre 2022
  • Point marché

Convictions immobilières Europe : 1er trimestre 2022

03/05/2022 Par Henry-Aurélien Natter

Dans un contexte de fébrilité des bourses mondiales, le marché européen des biens immobiliers aura réalisé une accélération du volume d’investissement avec 70 milliards d’euros investis au premier trimestre 2022 (+18% sur un an).

Lire la suite