Real Estate Convictions Europe : 1st quarter 2022

Just when the world was beginning to emerge from two years of health crisis, the Russian invasion of Ukraine has shaken up the economic cards, and the risk of major geopolitical fragmentation of the world has become real.

This division between blocks, if it happens, could have an impact over a long period of time. For the time being, global growth, which now stands at 3.6% in 2022, has been revised downwards due to the war in Ukraine and Western sanctions against Russia. Inflation, tightening monetary policies, the deteriorating health environment in China that will lead to new supply-chain difficulties, or the risk of a pandemic resurgence are all factors that pose significant uncertainties for activity in 2022.

With a conflict at its doorstep, Europe is returning to a high level of uncertainty. Eurozone growth has been revised downwards but remains in positive territory (+2.8%), impacted by more moderate consumption and industrial activity, as well as higher and longer inflation. However, it seems that this new crisis will not have the same impact on the European economies because of the disparity in the rise of energy and food prices, as well as a resurgence of supply constraints. The countries expected to underperform the Eurozone average are Finland (+1.5%), Germany (+2.0%), Belgium (+2.1%), and Austria (+2.4%), while Italy (+2.8%), France (+3.0%), the Netherlands (+3.2%), Ireland (+3.8%), Portugal (+4.8%) and Spain (+4.8%) are expected to outperform.

The double shock of Covid causing supply-chain bottlenecks, as well as the war in Ukraine and the energy and food crisis, have generated high inflation in the first quarter of 2022. The ECB must therefore navigate with the utmost caution between inflationary and recessionary risks, which could reinforce the stagflationary scenario. For the time being, inflation in the eurozone reached an all-time high of 7.5% in March. The CPI (consumer price index) in the eurozone has therefore been revised upwards, and is expected to reach 5.9% in 2022. The Frankfurt institution prefers to talk about a «normalisation» of its policy rather than a monetary tightening, even if this option is strengthened with two potential interest rate increases before the end of the year 2022 (+1.0%). This rise in rates would therefore mark the end of the era of negative returns, but not necessarily that of low rates. This scenario has already been anticipated by investors, as they have integrated an exit from the negative territory of rates, with results in an increasing spread between the various economies.

Against a backdrop of global stock market volatility, the European real estate market1 will have achieved an acceleration in the volume of investment, with €70 billion invested in the first quarter of 2022 (+18% year on yearyear on year). Due to the uncertain environment, investors continued their core strategy in the main European markets, while seeing new entry points for retail and hotels, which were corrected stronger than their fundamentals would justify. By major country, investment volumes reached 21.8 billion euros (+62%) in the United Kingdom, 12.1 billion euros in Germany (-12% year on year year on year), 9.6 billion euros in France (+15%), 3.4 billion euros in Italy (+121%), 2.7 billion euros in the Netherlands (-22%), and 2.2 billion euros in Spain (16%). Prime yields were again mostly stable in the first quarter of 2022. However, there was still a compression of yields for the most sought-after assets.

1 The real estate market refers to offices, retail, logistics, services and residential real estate for institutional clients.

Read the full study

Sources of data: CBRE, Eurostat, IMF, RCA, Oxford Economics..

Convictions immobilières Europe Mai 2022

The team

Daniel While
Daniel While Research, Strategy & Sustainability Director

Henry-Aurélien Natter
Henry-Aurélien Natter Research Manager

Adrien Isidore
Adrien Isidore Economist Statistician

You may also like

Real estate convictions: 1st quarter of 2022
  • Market review

Real estate convictions: 1st quarter of 2022

03/05/2022 By Henry-Aurélien Natter

Against a backdrop of global stock market volatility, the European real estate market will have achieved an acceleration in the volume of investment, with €70 billion invested in the first quarter of 2022 (+18% year on yearyear on year).

Lire la suite
Real Estate Convictions Europe : 2021 Overview
  • Market review

Real Estate Convictions Europe : 2021 Overview

10/02/2022 By Henry-Aurélien Natter

With €318 billion invested in 2021 (up +23% year-on-year), the return to growth in the European commercial real estate market was confirmed. Investors continued their strategy of buying ‘core’ buildings which were concentrated (62%) in office and residential real estate.

Lire la suite
Real estate convictions: Europe in the 2nd quarter of 2021
  • Market review

Real estate convictions: Europe in the 2nd quarter of 2021

26/05/2021 By Henry-Aurélien Natter

More than a year after the start of the Covid 19 pandemic, around EUR 115 billion were invested in commercial real estate in the first half of 2021, again confirming the relatively good resilience of this asset class.

Read the study

Convictions Immobilières Europe : 1er trimestre 2022

À l’heure où le monde commençait à sortir de deux années de crise sanitaire, l’invasion russe en Ukraine a rebattu les cartes économiques et le risque d’une fragmentation géopolitique majeure du monde devient réel.

Cette division en blocs, si elle se matérialise, pourrait avoir un impact sur une longue période. Pour l’heure, la croissance mondiale qui ressort maintenant à 3,6% en 2022 a été revue à la baisse en raison de la guerre en Ukraine et des sanctions occidentales envers la Russie. L’inflation, le resserrement des politiques monétaires, la dégradation du contexte sanitaire en Chine qui va entraîner de nouvelles difficultés d’approvisionnement ou le risque de résurgence pandémique sont autant d’éléments qui font peser de fortes incertitudes sur l’activité en 2022.

Avec un conflit à ses portes, l’Europe renoue avec un niveau élevé d’incertitude. La croissance de la zone euro a été revue à la baisse mais reste en territoire positif (+2,8%) impactée par une consommation et une activité industrielle plus modérée ainsi qu’une inflation plus forte et plus longue. Toutefois, il semble que cette nouvelle crise n’impactera pas de la même manière les économies européennes en raison de la disparité de la hausse des prix de l’énergie et des denrées alimentaires ainsi que par une résurgence des contraintes d’offre. Les pays qui devraient sous-performer la moyenne de la zone euro sont la Finlande (+1,5%), l’Allemagne (+2,0%), la Belgique (+2,1%), l’Autriche (+2,4%) alors que l’Italie (+2,8%), la France (+3,0%), les Pays-Bas (+3,2%), l’Irlande (+3,8%), le Portugal (+4,8%) et l’Espagne (+4,8) devraient surperformer.

Le double choc du Covid entrainant des goulets d’étranglement des chaînes d’approvisionnement ainsi que la guerre en Ukraine et la crise énergétique et alimentaire, a généré une inflation élevée lors du premier trimestre 2022. La BCE doit donc naviguer avec la plus grande prudence entre risque inflationniste et celui d’une récession, ce qui pourrait renforcer le scenario de la stagflation. Pour l’heure, l’inflation en zone euro a atteint un sommet historique à 7,5% en mars. L’IPC (indice des prix à la consommation) dans la zone euro a donc été révisé à la hausse et est attendue à 5,9% en 2022. L’institution de Francfort préfère évoquer une « normalisation » de sa politique plus qu’un resserrement monétaire même si cette option se renforce avec deux hausses potentielles avant la fin de l’année 2022 (+1,0%). Cette remontée des taux acterait donc la fin de l’ère des rendements négatifs, mais pas nécessairement celle des taux bas. Ce scénario est déjà anticipé par les investisseurs puisqu’ils ont intégré une sortie du territoire négatif des taux avec pour corollaire un spread qui s’accentue à nouveau entre les économies.

Dans un contexte de fébrilité des bourses mondiales, le marché européen des biens immobiliers1 aura réalisé une accélération du volume d’investissement avec 70 milliards d’euros investis au premier trimestre 2022 (+18% sur un an). En raison du contexte incertain, les investisseurs ont poursuivi leur stratégie « core » dans les principaux marchés européens et ont vu se former des points d’entrée sur le commerce et l’hôtellerie qui ont connu des corrections trop fortes par rapport à leurs fondamentaux. Par principaux pays, les volumes d’investissement ont atteint au Royaume-Uni 21,8 milliards (+62%), en Allemagne 12,1 milliards d’euros (-12% sur un an), en France 9,6 milliards d’euros (+15%), en Italie 3,4 milliards d’euros (+121%), aux Pays-Bas 2,7 milliards d’euros (-22%) et en Espagne 2,2 milliards d’euros (16%). Les taux de rendement étaient à nouveau majoritairement stables lors du premier trimestre 2022. Toutefois, une compression des rendements a encore été constatée concernant les actifs les plus recherchés. 

1Le marché des biens immobiliers désigne les bureaux, le commerce, la logistique, l’immobilier de services et le résidentiel destiné aux institutionnels.

Lire l'étude complète

Sources des données chiffrées : CBRE, Eurostat, FMI, RCA, Oxford Economics.

Convictions immobilières Europe Mai 2022

L'équipe Recherche

Daniel While Primonial REIM recherche immobilier SCPI
Daniel While Directeur recherche, stratégie et développement durable

Henry-Aurélien Natter Responsable Recherche

Adrien Isidore
Adrien Isidore Économiste Statisticien

Vous aimerez aussi

Convictions immobilières Europe : 1er trimestre 2022
  • Point marché

Convictions immobilières Europe : 1er trimestre 2022

03/05/2022 Par Henry-Aurélien Natter

Dans un contexte de fébrilité des bourses mondiales, le marché européen des biens immobiliers aura réalisé une accélération du volume d’investissement avec 70 milliards d’euros investis au premier trimestre 2022 (+18% sur un an).

Lire la suite
Convictions Immobilières Europe : Bilan 2021
  • Point marché

Convictions Immobilières Europe : Bilan 2021

10/02/2022 Par Henry-Aurélien Natter

Le marché européen de l’immobilier commercial a confirmé son retour à la croissance avec 318 milliards d’euros investis en 2021 (+23% sur un an). Les investisseurs ont poursuivi leur stratégie d’acquisition des immeubles « core » qui se sont concentré (62%) sur l’immobilier de bureaux et résidentiel.

Lire la suite
Convictions Immobilières : l'Europe au 2e trimestre 2021
  • Point marché

Convictions Immobilières : l'Europe au 2e trimestre 2021

02/09/2021 Par Henry-Aurélien Natter

Plus d’un an après le début de la crise du Covid-19, environ 115 milliards d’euros ont été investis en immobilier commercial au premier semestre 2021, démontrant la relative bonne résistance de la classe d’actifs.

Lire l'étude